Anna University New Vice Chancellor Surappa IISC Karnataka

Anna University New Vice Chancellor Surappa IISC Karnataka

M.K. Surappa, a honorary professor from department of materials engineering from IISc, Bangalore will be appoint as Anna University VC post

Prof. M K Surappa appointed Anna University Vice-Chancellor by Governor Banwarilal Purohit

As per the latest updates, Professor M.K Surappa has been appointed at the Vice Chancellor of Anna University. The former IISc honorary professor of Material’s Engineering has many awards to his name. He was awarded the Prof. Rustom Choksi Award for Excellence in Research in Engineering for the year 2007. Apart from this, he has also won the Annual prize for MRSI-ICSC Super Conductivity and Materials Science, Government of Karnataka’s Suvarna Karnataka Rajyotsava Award, and National Metallurgists Day Award from Govt. of India. He also has an MRSI medal to his name. The appointment of the vice chancellor came after two years. Almost two years of long wait for Anna University’s search for a vice-chancellor is likely to end on Wednesday. An interview was scheduled and six candidates were shortlisted by the VC search committee headed by Justice V.S. Sirpurkar, former Judge, Supreme Court of India. The interview took place at Raj Bhawan on Saturday.


 Reportedly, the committee had submitted the list of three candidates for VC’s post on the same day. Apart from the four candidates in the university, the panel had also shortlisted two candidates from IIT Madras and IISc Banglore for the interview. 170 applications were received for the VC’s post and the committee eliminated 140 applicants after three rounds. In the last meeting, the committee had called six candidates for interview. At present, the convener committee consists of three members – Sunil Paliwal, principal secretary, Department of Higher Education, K. Vivekanandan, Director of Technical Education and T.V. Geetha, Dean, College of Engineering, Guindy.The university has been functioning without any vice-chancellor since Anna university former vice- chancellor M. Rajaram completed his tenure on May 26, 2016. Anna University was established on 4th September 1978 as a unitary type of University. This University was named after Late Dr.C.N.Annadurai, former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. It offers higher education in Engineering, Technology, Architecture and Applied Sciences relevant to the current and projected needs of the society. Besides promoting research and disseminating knowledge gained therefrom, it fosters cooperation between the academic and industrial communities.

IPLT20 Chennai Super Kings CSK Updates

Anna University Affiliated Colleges April/May 2018 UG PG Time Table